Sparky Saved My Life Today

Posted: June 19, 2013 in Animals, Inspiration, Pets, Sparky, Things I Love
Tags:

He really, REALLY did. I’ll go to my grave believing that. Because today I may have found out SparkySmilewhy Sparky and I ended up together.

Now, those of you that read my stuff regularly know that I don’t go for the “everything happens for a reason” stuff. I’ve always thought people said that to help them deal with things they can’t comprehend or understand, and that by believing that there’s some Master Plan behind terrible events in their lives it helps them to cope.

Today I second guessed myself for that line of thinking.

It happened on Bridge Street. I was stopped at the intersection in front of Roosters, heading north. On my right was the off-ramp from Route 35. Spark was on the seat beside me, sleeping.

Or so I thought.

When the light turned green, I started pulling out. At that point Sparky started yowling, just screeching and bellowing like I’d never heard before. I naturally looked at him to see what was wrong, and he was looking quickly back-and-forth between me and out the window.

It was then that I saw it.

An 18-wheeler carrying automobiles had come flying down the off-ramp, shot right through the red light and barreled through the intersection not 5-feet from my front fender. It shot by me and, as I watched, crossed the intersection and on to what I assume was the auto dealership behind Roosters.

For a second I froze, then felt my knees become weak and start shaking. As I drove on I felt a lick on my elbow. I then had a moment of total clarity as I looked at my best friend, who was staring up at me.

That’s why you came to me.

I know, maybe I’m crazy. But I do know for certain that he saw that truck coming.

And he warned me.

Otherwise I’m 99% sure I wouldn’t be typing this right now.

I always knew that Spark came along at just the right time in my life, precisely when I needed a little unconditional love, a true friend, somebody who would accept me and love me in spite of my many faults. Yep, he’d already saved me in a lot of ways.

But today? He literally saved my life.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I do believe all that hippie-dippie “everything happens the way it is supposed to happen” stuff. 🙂 So glad that you are still here to entertain us all with tales of the intrepid Spark!

  2. yourothermotherhere says:

    There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
    Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.

    – Hamlet to Horatio

  3. Eric Dick says:

    Even if you are not fond of the “everything for a reason” line, evidence is hard to discredit. Then your appreciation of this one may be limited as well….God has plans for you that He may or may not reveal to you. Sorry Shoe, I am a believer.

    • Shoe says:

      I didn’t say I wasn’t a believer. I’ve just never believed in the “everything happens for a reason” line. Not sure the Supreme Being cares about the minutia. BTW, if the Heat wins tonight is there a spiritual reason for it? Cause I hope HE or SHE is not a LeBron fan.

Gimme a holler.