What is a “thug”? Here’s my take.

Posted: January 23, 2014 in Humor, Opinion
Tags:

With all the kerfuffle over Richard Sherman’s antics this past weekend, the use of the word “thug” has come into contention. Many people apparently called Sherman a “thug” for his out-of-control interview with Erin Andrews postgame. Sherman claims that some people use “thug” as an accepted replacement for the N-word, which I really can’t argue with because I think he’s right.

For instance, when you see a hockey or baseball fight the word “thug” is never used. It only seems to be used in basketball or football, and then only when those involved have a lot of tattoos or dreadlocks.

So, point taken Richard Sherman.

Having said all that, when I think of a “thug” I don’t think of rappers, athletes or the like.

Here’s my take . . .

Pretend Thug

 

Actual Thugs

Italian Mafia.

Glad I could straighten this out for everybody. Now let’s put it to rest.

Have a nice day.

Comments
  1. […] What is a “thug”? Here’s my take. (shoeuntied.wordpress.com) […]

Gimme a holler.