Respecting the Game

Posted: May 5, 2017 in Opinion, Sports
Tags:

I had an interesting conversation with somebody the other day about my basketball team’s policy of “dressing up” for games. The person I was talking to questioned why we did it and wondered if it was necessary in 2017. I asked if he was talking about our coaching staff or our players, and he basically said he was referring to both.*

*Actually the first thing I wanted to ask him was if his brain had slid out of the back of his skull, but I was in a good mood.

Listen, I don’t necessarily think the way we do things is the perfect way, nor do I judge programs that are run differently. It’s just my own personal view on how things should be done, simple as that.

Number one, I have a lot of respect for the game of basketball. I’ve seen it change lives. Hell, I’ve seen it save lives. You may think I’m exaggerating, but I am not. I’ve seen it at the high school level and I’ve seen it at the college level. Basketball can give people a purpose, and a reason, to better themselves, and even to live.

Am I being melodramatic? No, because I’ve seen it.

I’ve seen sports, and in my case basketball, give kids a reason to stay in school, to go to class, to focus on their future, and to keep on going.

Coaches too.

So yeah, I think the game deserves our respect. Because of this I wear ties to games. No polos and no sweatsuits for me (sorry Huggs). And my team will wear ties on most nights, and traveling gear on others. But what they won’t do is wear jeans and t-shirts. It’s the same reason you won’t see any shimmying, dancing, or otherwise acting like a fool on the court from my guys.

Not gonna happen.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want emotionless robots on the court either. Positive emotions are great, there’s nothing wrong with pumping a fist or otherwise getting fired up, I love that sort of thing. But what I don’t want is a bunch of clowns on the court, making a mockery of a great game or showing up our opponent.

Hey, I know I’m in the minority here, with NBA players prancing about like tools after every routine shot, but I’ll be damned if I’m going to give in. Can’t do it, won’t do it. And I know some of you won’t get it, that you’ll look at me like I have a marmoset on my head.

That’s O.K. Gotta fight the good fight, man.

Anyway, that’s the simple answer to why we wear neckties. Just a simple respect for the game. After all it’s done for me, it’s the least I can do for it.

PS- Please spare me the old, “Oh, lighten up and let them have fun!” That’s just dumb. You know what’s fun? Winning is fun. Let’s try and do that and the fun will follow.

PPS- I also touched on this subject in a blog called Basketball’s Unwritten Rules: What Happened? Read it, man.

PPPS- Yeah, like this. Disgusting.

 

Gimme a holler.

