Perusing America’s Favorite Food Chains. What Say You?

Posted: March 10, 2017 in Food, Things I Love
Tags:

People Food: Market Force Information is the most recent company to try their hand at separating the true fast food cream from the rest of the crop. According to CNBC, these customer experience experts culled responses from more than 11,000 people to create “a composite loyalty index that measures satisfaction with the food quality, service, value and restaurant experience, among other things.” From there, Market Force was able to assess what restaurants it believes people truly love.

Let me make one thing perfectly clear. This list is bogus. Oh, I know it’s opinion-based and there are no right and wrong answers, except for the fact that these are all wrong answers. Let’s take a look:

Favorite burger chain: In-N-Out Burger

Listen, I had an In-N-Out burger in Vegas once. It wasn’t that great. And you know how people are offended by calling White Castle’s delicious little delicacies “sliders”? Well, what exactly does “In N Out” mean? That’s disgusting, man. My favorite? The Castle, man. Der.

My typical order at The Castle.

Favorite Mexican chain: Chipotle Mexican Grill

You know why I dislike Chipotle? Because the founder, Steve Ells, is a pretentious blowhard. My favorite? Mad Mex. It’s in the Gateway District in Columbus. Get the Grilled Salmon Taco. Your taste buds will thank you.

Favorite pizza chain: Marco’s Pizza

We have a Marco’s in the town near me and I’ve ordered from there once. Was I blown away? I was not. My favorite? Three locations qualifies as a chain, right? Jerry’s Pizza, baby.

A dumpster out front is always a nice touch.

Favorite chicken chain: Chick-fil-A

Chick-fil-A is fine and I enjoy dining there from time-to-time. Is it my bottom-line favorite? It is not. That distinction goes to Mario’s Lord of the Wings in Cincinnati. If  you haven’t had their wings you haven’t had wings. ‘Nuff said.

Favorite sandwich chain: Firehouse Subs

Isn’t this the sub joint founded by some firefighters? I had one of these in Columbus recently. Not bad. My favorite? The Melt Bar & Grilled in Columbus. Listen, and listen now. Go there and order the Mighty Macaroni sandwich. It has creamy homemade macaroni & cheese (battered and deep fried, man!) and is layered with cheddar cheese sauce and the melted cheese of your choice. Good God. That’s heaven right there. Take a bite, set the sandwich down, and let the tasty goodness wash over you. Repeat.

The legend itself.

So there are the nation’s favorites, as well as mine. What say you?

Gimme a holler.

