My Favorite Duos: The Top 10

Posted: March 3, 2017 in Humor, Opinion
Tags:

I know, I know. Odd topic. So I’m odd, live with it. My brain goes to strange places. What follows is my Top 10 Favorite Duos, and I just realized I left out Adam and Eve. Wait. They were responsible for Original Sin, so they can go to hell. See what I did there? Anyhoo, this is my list and I’m standing by it. Yell at me in the comments section if you have a problem with it. Or don’t, I don’t really care. First though, I shall tell you about a few duos that missed the cut. Here they be:

Heckle & Jeckle

heckle_jeckle

These dudes just missed the Top 10 because I loved them as a kid. They were two cartoon birds on a TV show, and their hijinks were hilarious. If I recall one of them inexplicably had a British accent, although I know not why. On a related note, I’m very happy I found a way to work the word “hijinks” into this blog.

Batman & Robin

batman

See kids, the original Batman was sort of a dark comic strip like you know now. But the 60’s TV Batman was something different, sort of a funny, campy, tongue-in-cheek look at superheroes. Seriously, it was awesome. Trust me on this one.

Simon & Garfunkel

simonandgarfunkel_3315727b

There is one reason I refuse to put this musical duo in the Top 10, and it is not Art Garfunkel’s hair. It’s the fact that Paul Simon once said this: “The world is waiting for two great reunions. Simon and Garfunkel and The Beatles.”

R-i-g-h-t. Dream on, Paul Simon.

Ren & Stimpy

renstempy

Who could not like a show starring Ren, an emotionally unstable chihuahua, and Stimpy, a good-natured, dimwitted cat? I mean really? The show was controversial for its off-color humor, sexual innuendo, dark humor, adult jokes, and violence which were rare for children’s television animation. The series is often cited as paving the way for animated shows like Beavis and Butt-Head and South Park. Good stuff, man.

And without further ado, we get to the Top 10. I need a cat to give me a drumroll, please . . .

drumrollcat

Thank you.

10. Walter White & Jesse Pinkman

Walter White (Bryan Cranston) and Jesse Pinkman (Aaron Paul) - Breaking Bad - Gallery - Photo Credit: Frank Ockenfels/AMC

Oh yeah! The top two characters in one of my all-time favorite TV shows, Breaking Bad. Walter was a high school chemistry teacher who was dying of cancer and Jesse was a young punk and former student. Together they get involved in the making and selling of crystal meth and the results were one helluva story. If you haven’t seen it, watch it as soon as possible.

9. Lucy & Ethel

lucy

I’m going way back here, but Lucy and Ethel are television icons, man. And if you watch today it’s still funny and fresh. Don’t believe me? watch this:

8. Lenny & Squiggy

LAVERNE & SHIRLEY - "Dating Slump" - Airdate: March 30, 1976. (Photo by ABC Photo Archives/ABC via Getty Images) MICHAEL MCKEAN;DAVID L. LANDER

If you don’t know who Lenny & Squiggy are I feel sorry for you, you’re a pathetic human being and you can’t be my friend. These guys were on the Laverne and Shirley show and were a couple of dimwitted friends who were always hanging around. Bottom line, they were hilarious and the only reason I watched the show. Wanna see their famous introduction to every show? OK.

 7. Beavis & Butt-head

beavisandbutthead

Beavis and Butt-head were two socially incompetent, heavy metal-loving teenage delinquents who go to school at Highland High in Highland, Texas. They have no apparent adult supervision at home and are dim-witted, under-educated and barely literate. Both lack any empathy or moral scruples, even regarding each other. Their most common shared activity is watching music videos. Beavis and Butt-head helped lead to the downfall of modern society as we know it. Did I like to watch? I did.

6. Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

duos

Look at these guys. Cool personified.

Ah, one of the most famous duos in movie history. The film was called “Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid” and starred Paul Newman and Robert Redford. They were stellar. They were savvy, cool thieves and there are several classic scenes in the movie. Here’s my first favorite scene, when some gunslinger challenges The Sundance Kid to a gunfight before realizing he’s the Sundance Kid:

Gunfighter: “I didn’t know you were the Sundance Kid when I accused you of cheating. If I draw on you you’ll kill me.

Sundance Kid: “There’s that possibility.

Here’s another favorite scene:

Butch: “Listen, I don’t wanna be a sore loser but when this is over if I’m dead, kill him.

Sundance: “Love to.”

Classic stuff.

5. Cheech & Chong

cheech-chong

Richard “Cheech” Marin and Tommy Chong were (and are I guess) the faces of 70’s stoners and I owned all their albums back in the day. They started as a comedy duo and man, they were funny. They eventually made some great movies like “Up in Smoke” and the follow-up, “Cheech and Chong’s Next Movie” which had a great title, amirite? Anyhoo, Cheech & Chong. Check ’em out:

You get the gist.

4. Bugs Bunny & Daffy Duck

bugs_bunny_and_daffy_duck

Hey, these two have been through a lot together, and Bugs has been  responsible for Elmer Fudd shooting Daffy in the head with a shotgun approximately 7,894,354 times. Still, they remained close and have persevered. These guys were popular back when cartoons were wildly inappropriate and featured stuff like people getting shot, run over by trucks, falling off cliffs, and other various merriment and hilariousness. Oh, and almost all cartoon characters had a speech impediment. Awesome.

3. Macaroni & Cheese

macc

Is it a stretch including a foodstuff in my Top Duos? Not in this case, my friends. And hey, it’s my website. After all, Mac ‘n Cheese has a personality of its own and calls to me almost daily. I actually have a conversation with it as I eat it. Stuff like, “Oh, yes. Yes. You are the definition of tasty goodness.” You know, stuff like that. I include it with no guilt or remorse.

2. Lewis & Clark

Bad. Ass.

Bad. Ass.

Anyone who has ever been a student in my history class knows of my love for two of the baddest mofos in history. When Thomas Jefferson needed somebody to lead a corps of men across the uncharted American west, a place that many thought was inhabited by saber-toothed tigers, wooly mammoths and had volcanos and possibly a race of giants, who did he pick? You got it – Meriwether Lewis and William Clark. Their mission? To find a waterway to the west. Although they didn’t find the waterway because it didn’t exist, they did make it to the Pacific Ocean after encountering grizzly bears, hostile Native Americans, and you know, the freaking Rocky Mountains. Still, they made it back. If you haven’t read the book Undaunted Courage you’ve lived an unfulfilled life. Finally, the following video was required viewing for my classes, as it now is for you. Enjoy . . .

1. Lennon & McCartney

lennonmcccartney

Anyone who didn’t see this coming does not know me, is a moron, and heretofore is not my acquaintance. This duo not only changed the course of music history but wrote the soundtrack of my life. If I’ve said it once I’ve said it a million times – The Beatles advanced music more from 1963-1970 than it’s been advanced since. From “She Loves You” to “Helter Skelter”? Are you serious? Quite simply, they made the biggest impact on my life than anybody on this list, and it’s not even close.

 I know what you’re saying. No Tom & Jerry? No, because Tom & Jerry was lame, so shut it. This is my list and I’m standing by it. Have an awesome weekend.

 

Gimme a holler.

