World’s oldest surgeon is 89-years old. On a related note, yikes.

Posted: February 3, 2017 in Amazing and Interesting Stories, News
Tags: ,
Yeah. Old.

Yeah. Old.

If you think that age slows you down then you’ve obviously never met Alla Illyinichna Levushkina. She’s a surgeon at Ryazan City Hospital near Moscow, and despite being almost 90-years old – yes, you heard that correctly – she still performs 4-operations every day.

89-year-old Alla, who lives in a flat where she cares for her disabled nephew and her eight cats, has been a surgeon for a whopping 67-years, and although she’s already performed more than 10,000 operations, she has no intention of slowing down. “Being a doctor isn’t just a profession but a lifestyle,” she told Lite FM when asked if she had any plans to retire. “If I stopped working, who is going to perform the surgeries?” She’s thought to be the oldest surgeon still working in the world, but what’s the secret to her long life? “‘I didn’t find any secret to longevity,” she said. “I just eat everything, laugh a lot and cry a lot.”

Listen, I have to be honest here. Although I give much respect to Alla Illyinichna Levushkina, I have tell it the way I see it. There is no way in hell I’d let an 89-year old surgeon operate on me. Who knows if she’s going to keel over in the middle of the operation? I mean, 89-years old is 89-years old, man. That’s getting close to the end, man. And sorry, but I’m not sure how steady those hands will be. Thanks but no thanks, Alla Illyinichna Levushkina.

PS- Admit it. They roll you into surgery and you see Alla standing there. Wouldn’t you have a few questions?

PPS- No offense, octogenarians.

Gimme a holler.

