Family “Forgets To Plan”, Ends Up Stuck In Grand Canyon

Posted: December 28, 2016 in Amazing and Interesting Stories, News
Tags:

After walking 26-miles in the snow along a desolate stretch of the Grand Canyon over 36-hours, a Las Vegas woman is now safe at a Utah hospital and recovering from exposure.

Karen Klein was enjoying a holiday vacation with her husband and 10-year-old son when their car got stuck in mud near the North Rim of the Grand Canyon in Arizona late last week.

Klein said she’d decided to be the one to go get help because her husband had recently been in an accident.

“I said, ‘I’ll go, I’ll just walk up to the main road. I’m a runner,'” Klein recounted Monday.

Unaware that the area is closed to vehicle traffic during the winter, Klein decided to walk to the nearest main road in hopes of flagging down a passing car.

Hours later, she found herself alone in the dark.

Over the next 36-hours, she ended up trekking almost 30-miles of snow-covered ground with no cell service, no snow boots and nothing but a small pack of cheerios to eat.

As far as places being closed, we just didn’t realize that these roads were closed and these visitor centers were closed,” Klein said. “My husband and I should have done a better job of planning.”

I posted that entire article to get to the last paragraph. Why? Because I love it when people feel the need to state the obvious:

My husband and I should have done a better job of planning.”

Gee, ya think?

Kudos to Karen Klein, though. That’s a girl with a can-do attitude.

Gimme a holler.

