Songs About John

Posted: November 12, 2016 in Music, Rock Lyrics, Rock Music, Rock Videos, Things I Love
Tags:

As always, with the anniversary of John Lennon’s death coming up on December 8th he’s been on my mind. I wrote about the night he died and how it affected me in a blog entitled December 8th, 1980 a couple years ago. For a fan like myself his assassination was a stunning, heartbreaking and life-changing event to put it mildly.

After John was murdered, anything and everything written about him was of interest to fans like me. There were several songs written about him but only three really touched me, probably because they were written by his true friends and not somebody trying to make a buck off of his death.

That said, here are my three favorite songs ever written about John after his passing. All three are straight from the heart. I’ll post the video, preceded my observations along with my favorite lyric.

Empty Garden – Elton John

A song Elton John wrote about his good friend. Clearly from the heart.

Favorite Lyric:

Who lived here?
He must have been a gardener that cared a lot,
Who weeded out the tears and grew a good crop,
And we are so amazed, we’re crippled and we’re dazed,
A gardener like that one no one can replace.

All Those Years Ago – George Harrison

This tune by George was criticized for being “too upbeat” but to me it’s George through and through. Paul and Linda sing background, but they’re sort of muted. So post-breakup Beatles it hurts. Still, I love the song.

Favorite Lyric:

Now we’re left cold and sad
By someone the devil’s best friend,
Someone who offended all.

Here Today – Paul McCartney

The best song written about John after his death, hands down. This is Paul telling it like it was . . .

Favorite Lyric:

And if I said I really loved you
And was glad you came along
Then you were here today . . .
For you were in my song.

lennonsmile

Gimme a holler.

