I H8 Acronyms

Posted: October 14, 2016 in Humor, Opinion
Tags:

You want to know the latest cultural trend that I hate? No? Too bad, I’m telling omgyou anyway.

I have no idea why this bothers me, but I hate it when people use those dumb acronyms instead of saying or writing the actual word. The stuff used when texting is bad enough, words like CYA, J/K and L8R, and that’s not even mentioning idiotic words like “prolly”, which isn’t an acronym but is moronic still.

And hey, I’m not immune either. I’ll use the occasional WTF or LOL myself, but I’ve pledged to go with “ha-ha” from now on, so there. Ha-ha!

Anyhoo, for some reason these bother me the most:

  • GOAT: What, we can’t say the words greatest of all-time? A GOAT is an animal, man.
  • POTUS: “President” works just fine, thank you. And please, stop it with the “FLOTUS” while you’re at it.
  • HOCO: I swear I just noticed the use of this one this year. Kids never said “homecoming” dance, but instead HOCO.
  • YOLO: You only live once, man! YOLO! Good God.
  • AFAIK: Someone texted me this the other day and I thought they were cussing at me or something. I had to search it up on the Goggle and found out it means “as far as I know.” Jeesh.

This is all related to technology and cell phones, where everybody wants to abbreviate everything. It has even spread to the decline of social skills in the world, as I wrote about in The Pros and Cons of Technology awhile back. As I said then, I realize there’s no going back now, unless society crumbles due to catastrophic climate change or we’re hit by an asteroid or something and we have to start over. Hey, a guy can dream, right?

And on that cheerful note, I’m out.

CYA L8R.

PS – While writing this I came across the fact that RSVP stands for “respond if you please” in French. Cool.

Gimme a holler.

