Perusing the “5 Most Crucial Things Successful People Do In The First Hour of Their Day” List

Posted: October 12, 2016 in Humor
Tags:

dumblist

The Daily Mail published this list yesterday, and like all lists it begs for a going-over by yours truly. Let’s take a gander . . .

1. Get in some pre-work exercise: Going for a run or hitting the gym before work is essential. It clears your mind and psyches you up for the day ahead and any challenges it might bring.

Nah. I leave that kind of thing for guys like my buddy Thad, who on a typical morning does stuff like this:

3 sets not for time, 5/side shrimp squats, 5 dragon flags, 1 squat clean + 1/side alternating reverse lunges + 1 front squat, 6-8 x 1 moderate/tough; begin a set every 2:00, 155-185-185-175-180-185-185-190, 5 sets 1 legless rope climb, 5 handstand push-ups, :60 rest, 5 CTB pull-ups, 10 hand-release push-ups, 15 air squats, :60 rest, 5:00-10:00 Assault Bike easy.

I swear to God I took that directly off his Facebook page. That’s what he did this morning, and I don’t understand a word of it. I have no idea what a dragon flag, shrimp squat, air squat, or assault bike is. Here’s my workout every morning:

Walk Sparky to the stop sign and back.

Seriously though, shrimp squat is a funny word, amirite?

2. Eat a healthy breakfast: You can’t expect to be productive if you’re not fueling your body properly, so eat a healthy breakfast as soon as you get into the office. By starting the day off well, and ensuring that you’re giving your energy levels the best possible boost, you’ll find it so much easier to focus throughout the day and stay motivated. The most successful people make wise choices when it comes to their first meal of the day.

Oh hell yes. I totally agree with this one. Every morning, without fail, I have a nutritious Zero candy bar and a Pure Zero Rockstar energy drink from the gas station. Boom! Focused, motivated and boosted.

Note: This morning I finished off a box of Cheez-Its to change the pace. Also nutritious.

zerostar

Hells to the yah.

3. Clear your inbox: Whilst many people say you should leave this until the afternoon, it’s important to start the day off as you intend to go on so as soon as you sit down to work, make it a priority to clear your inbox, and respond to any urgent queries.

Please. That’s kid stuff. I save clearing my inbox of urgent queries when I feel like it. Sorry not sorry. Nothing worse than appearing needy.

4. Determine your goals for the day: Once you’ve sorted through your inbox and you know exactly what needs doing, make sure to set clear goals for the day ahead. Whether it’s signing off new artwork, catching up with employees or running through upcoming presentations, it will help you to stay on track and be productive if you know exactly what you want to have accomplished by the end of the day.

I don’t talk to my employees here in the offices of Shoe: Untied other than Abe Lavinsky over in Accounting and Finance. Abe is my snitch, man. Let’s me know what’s up. Oh, and I usually stop by the desk of Heather over in Research and Development, but that’s neither here nor there.

5. Set yourself a priority list: You can’t go wrong with a to-do list, so after you’ve set yourself goals for the day, make a list of the key tasks that need completing, in order of priority and importance.

I can’t argue with this one because you’re talking to a big priority list guy here. Rank your tasks, attack them one-by-one from the top down, then move on with your life. Honestly, I think I may have invented the priority list. Here’s my list from this morning:

  1. Walk Sparky.
  2. Have my Zero and Rockstar energy drink.
  3. Update Shoe: Untied with a couple blogs highlighted by my razor-sharp wit and biting commentary.
  4. Take a short power nap.
  5. Shower and get dressed. Probably should have dressed before I walked Sparky, but whatever.

There’s more but you get the idea. Being a world class, respected blogger is hard work, man. Now excuse me while go I research an article about dancing chihuahuas.

chico

 

Gimme a holler.

