Some Thoughts Regarding Dumb Political Signage

Posted: September 14, 2016 in Assclowns, Opinion, Politics
Tags: ,

As many of you know my family has been involved in politics for nearly 60-years. My Uncle Myrl was an Ohio State Representative and Lieutenant Governor in the 1980s, and my cousin Mike was a State Representative and State Senator as well. Hell, I remember going door-to-door for John F. Kennedy as a 5-year old kid, handing out flyers to people in small towns all over Southern Ohio.

And as an adult I’ve been involved in local political races ranging from local Board of Education contests to presidential campaigns.

That said, I’m not here to try and persuade anyone to lean a particular way in this year’s election. I usually don’t get into political or religious discussions with folks online, mainly because it makes me angry and gives me the inclination to strangle the life out of somebody. Same way with my friends. If I know we see issues differently so I choose not to bring it up. Ask me, however, and I’ll be glad to tell you exactly what I think.

However, with my experience in campaigning there are a couple facts I’d like to point out regarding political signs.

First off, I’ve seen signs in people’s yards for the past 6-months. This is a mistake. You ever notice how, when a sign initially goes up, you notice it? Then, after a time, it sort of blends into the landscape?

That’s why, as my late uncle once told me, you wait until a month before an election to put up your signs. If they’re up longer than that they sort of vanish from your sightline and mesh into the landscape.

Think about it. You know it’s true.

And you never, ever, put a sign up with a bunch of other signs. I see this all the time. You find a spot separate from everyone else where it sticks out and is more visible. Common sense really.

Next, I’ve seen several negative signs that are inadvertently working in a way opposite of what they’re intended. Example: I’ve seen several Hillary Clinton signs that say Hillary for Prison rather than Hillary for President.

Problem is, when people are speeding by at 60 mph or glancing as they cruise by in a town, all they see is Hillary. Hate to break it to you, but I bet 9 of 10 people see Hillary and nothing else. Check out the similarity:

hillary_for_president_yard_sign hillary_for_prison_yard_sign

So, Hillary haters? I hate to inform you but you’re sort of defeating your purpose, and in fact helping out the enemy.

Same for Clinton supporters:

trumpsign2

trump5See? Look at both signs. All folks are gonna see is TRUMP.

I guess maybe these negative signs cancel each other out though, when you think about it.

Anyway, my 2¢ regarding political signage. Bottom line? Wait until you post those signs, and never, ever, post a sign with your opponents name on it.

Finally, to all the candidates –  Get your workers out there and take those signs down the morning after Election Day. I know it’s tough, especially after you lose, but you gotta do it, man. Win with class, lose with class.

And to the rest of you? Get out there and vote. If you don’t, I don’t want to hear you bitching.

‘Merica!

Gimme a holler.

