Fighting: What Happened?

Posted: May 25, 2016 in Fights, Opinion, Things I Hate
Tags:

Yeah, my friends will tell you I used to get in a scrape or two back in the day.what_happened_logo_by_summersole It was part of growing up I guess, and there were times when my friend and I would actually go out looking for trouble. It’s not something I’m proud of at all, and in fact I’m embarrassed by it today.

Those days are long past, thank God, partly because I’m way too old to be acting like an idiot anymore and partly because, as you mature, you realize how stupid it is. It’s hard for a lot of younger guys to understand, but fighting is just a really, really dumb way to settle your differences.

And by the way, NEWSFLASH: Any intelligent girl won’t be impressed by it. At all.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d do anything to defend a family member or a loved one. Other than that though, I’m pretty sure I’m mature enough and comfortable enough with who I am to just smile and walk away.

Why? Because I have nothing to prove to anybody. Plus, I’m not an animal, so there’s that.

Having said all that, back in my day fighting was totally different. There were unwritten rules that almost everyone followed. Today, you can watch fights on YouTube and it’s clear that those old rules are long gone.

In the old days, if a fight broke out, everyone stood back and let the two fighters duke it out until somebody won. Nobody ever jumped in to help. Now? Not so much. It’s common for 2-3 guys to jump a single guy and just beat the hell out of him. That would have been unheard of in my day. In fact, it would have been a show of weakness and you would have been ridiculed mercilessly.

And what about sucker punches? If you sucker punched a guy back in the 60’s or 70’s you couldn’t show your face around town for months. It was dishonorable, man. It was a coward’s way to fight. Totally different today. Just go to YouTube and type “sucker punch” into the search box. You’ll find videos of guys sneaking up behind somebody, knocking them out, and hopping around screaming and flexing as if they’re a badass or something.

Another change involves kicking a guy when he’s down and already beaten. What’s the point of curb stomping a guy when he’s already out?

Makes zero sense to me. You’re not a badass, you’re a chickenshit fool, fool.

What the hell happened? This is a reflection of society, right?

Or am I just one of those old “get off my lawn!” guys, lamenting the way things used to be? Yeah, I probably am.

But that doesn’t mean I’m wrong.

giphy (1)

 

Gimme a holler.

