Age, man. Who cares?

Posted: December 2, 2015 in Humor, Opinion
Tags:
age

I think I’m the third guy from the right maybe?

“Some people are old at 18 and some are young at 90. Time is a concept that humans created.” – Yoko Ono

So I turned 61 today and I swear to God I could not care less. I’ve never understood the whole fretting about your age thing. Hell, a buddy of mine turned 30 a few years ago and he went into depression for 2-weeks. I was perplexed at this reaction. Why? Age is just a number, right? What’s the big deal, man?

And what’s the obsession with 10-year intervals? Why do people make a big deal out of turning 40 or 50 or 60? Did something change when I turned from 59 to 60 last year? It did not. I felt pretty much the same on both days. Now, the day after my birthday I felt a little worse, but that’s another story.

Do I wish I was 30? Nah. I’ve been 30. I didn’t feel any better then than I do now. Maybe I feel a few more aches and pains, but that’s about it. Oh, and there’s the hair thing but luckily I have a glorious dome so that’s actually a positive, amirite?

And I’m pretty sure I have more peace of mind now than I did then.

I like to think I’m a better person now than I was then, although it probably depends on who you ask. God knows I’ve made mistakes but I’ve hopefully learned from them.

So I’m closer to dying. Big deal. Newsflash: So are you. Every damn day you’re closer. There’s no guarantee we’ll see tomorrow, let alone 80. Worrying about age is an absolute waste of time, folks.

I have friends of all ages and I don’t give a second thought to how long they’ve been on planet earth. Never have. I just look for common interests, people of a similar sense of humor, stuff like that. They could be 18 or 88, I don’t give a damn. And some people have old souls at young ages and vice versa, correct?

Hell, I’m proud to be 61. Why in the world would it bother me or why would I try and hide it?

I mean, consider the alternative to turning 61. Not good. Hey, I am still here after all. Woot!

Maybe Mark Twain said it best:

“Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.” 

Amen, Mr. Twain. Amen.

Gimme a holler.

