Sparky Takes Flight

Posted: February 14, 2015 in Adventure, Humor, Pets, Sparky
Tags: , ,

1I’m sorry, I’m trying to cut back on the Sparky stories but stuff keeps happening. What can I say, Spark’s a whirling dervish of action, a surprise a minute. Having said that, he almost gave me a coronary today.

Here’s the deal . . .

I had some errands to run in town and of course Sparky came along. He has a new car seat that lets him look out the window while lying down in it. I know, I know, he’s spoiled but it was a gift and it’s pretty cool to boot. He likes to stick his head out the window like most dogs, so to safeguard I hook him to his leash and put the other end over the gearshift.

All was well until it happened.

We were cruising down a backroad at about 40-miles per hour when a squirrel cut in front of me. It was about 20-feet in front of the car so I had a chance to slow down a little to let it pass. What happened next was a blur, a flash, and horrific all at the same time. Sparky vaulted out the window like a hound possessed in pursuit of the squirrel. It was as if he was shot out of a cannon. I swear he’s ridiculously intelligent, but apparently the smarts, along with Sparky, go out the window when a critter is on the run.

I hit the brakes as Sparky hit the ground. Thank God he wears a harness because if the leash had been attached to a collar The Spark’s neck may have been broken. Come to think of it we’re lucky nobody was behind us as well. Anyway, I see the leash snap tight but it holds, so I take it off the gearshift as I open the passenger door, expecting the worst.

What I saw was Sparky jumping back up in his seat like nothing particularly unusual had happened, as if leaping out of a moving car was perfectly normal. At that point he got a terrier ass-ripping, so he retreated to the back seat to avoid the verbal onslaught. No worries, I hurt his feelings for about 12-seconds, then he was back to his cocky little self. A few minutes later I pulled over in a parking lot to check him for injuries, and incredibly he seemed to be fine. Well, except for a weird black smudge over his tail. Not a clue where that came from.

All in all, just another day in my life with Sparky. Whew.

No clue.

Comments
  1. Andrea Stewart says:

    I love your Sparky stories

  2. Wow. He’s a handful….and by that I mean demon from Hell.

  3. JR says:

    Smudge looks suspiciously like road rash I’ve seen on motorcyclists who chose to get off their bike at 60 mph. Fascinating how supposedly smart animals can make less-than-smart decisions. Sorta like allegedly smart humans who did stupid things. Like blowing up mailboxes with M-80’s, just as an example. But I could be wrong.

  4. […] down so The Spark could stick his head out, sniff the air and bark at random people. After his going airborn incident a few weeks ago I thought it would be prudent to wrap his leash around the gearshift. […]

Gimme a holler.

