For Halloween, My 20 All-Time Favorite Horror Movies

Posted: October 31, 2014 in Fears, Great Movie Scenes, Movies, Opinion, Things I Love
Tags:

I’ve always been a fan of the horror genre, hence my love of The Walking Dead and stuff like that. And since it’s Halloween I thought it would be appropriate to list my 20 All-Time Favorite Horror Movies. You know, just for you.

Night of the Living Dead (1968)

The opening scene to this movie simply mortified me. I believe this movie was one of the first, if not the first, that used the word zombies. Here’s that opening scene . . .

Cloverfield (2008)

In my opinion, this was a very underrated movie. My favorite scene is when we finally get an up close look at the monster, right before he murders a dude. Love it.

The Fly (1958)

The last scene of this movie absolutely knocked me off my feet as a kid. For the whole movie we’ve seen the guy with the fly head, never thinking that their might be another being with a fly body. Then this happens . . .

Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954)

My family used to take trips to Florida, and I always thought of this scene when we’d pass a river or creek.

The Mothman Prophecies (2002)

LOVED this movie. And the scene where Richard Gere gets the phone call scared the bejesus out of me. Freaky.

Friday the 13th (1980)

Forget the hideous sequels, the original was stellar.

Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)

There’s something about this scene when Donald Sutherland screams that is very unsettling to me.

The Exorcist (1973)

If this scene didn’t creep you out you have no soul.

When a Stranger Calls (1979)

Yep. He’s in the house.

Psycho (1960)

Of course. It has to be the famous shower scene.

The Shining (1980)

From the whole movie, one and only one scene stands out, and it’s not Nicholson’s “Here’s Johnny!”

It’s this chilling scene . . .

The Town That Dreaded Sundown (1979)

This may be the most little known scary as hell movie in history. Even the trailer is spooky.

Alien (1979)

Even though you know what’s coming, it’s still hard to watch . . .

Pet Sematary (1979)

This is very difficult to watch. Seriously. Parents with small children should probably move along to the next movie.

The Omen (1976)

You know why you don’t know many people named Damien today? Because of this movie.

Carrie (1976)

There is no way the new version will be as good as the original. No. Way. Here’s the climactic prom scene.

Halloween (1978)

Maybe the best horror film of all-time. Absolutely terrifying.

It (1990)

Evil clown. ‘Nuff said. I swear I can barely watch this scene . . .

Dawn of the Dead (2004)

Just a freakily good beginning.

Salem’s Lot (1979)

I literally had nightmares about this scene. Not even kidding.

Sweet dreams everyone!

Gimme a holler.

