Selling Sparky

Posted: June 29, 2014 in Animals, Pets, Things I Love
Tags: ,

Note: This happened back in the Summer of 2013. I have no way of knowing if the lady I talk about in the story was legit, but she sure seemed to be.

The following SparkyAlertstory happened a year or so ago, and I’m not really sure why I haven’t written about it before. Perhaps I was a little concerned about people’s reactions to it, I don’t know. Maybe I thought folks wouldn’t believe it, and I’m sure a some of you will think I’m a complete idiot after reading it. Ultimately? I don’t really care.

Like I said, a year or so ago I got a message on my website from a woman in California, Los Angeles to be exact. She had read all my stories about Sparky and was very interested in him. She informed me that her occupation required her to search for animals, in particular dogs, with a “high level of intelligence.” She said when she found a candidate she would take it for a few days, run it through a series of tests, and determine its intelligence level. If she found what she was looking for, she would offer to buy the dog and sell it to be used for things like bomb-sniffing, rescue operations, guiding the blind, and a lot of times even for TV and movies.

She said that from everything I’d written about Sparky, she suspected very strongly that he was exactly what she was looking for. She said she’d found hundreds of dogs over the years and he fit the description of what she needed perfectly. She then offered to fly me to California, and if her suspicions were correct, I could end up being offered as much as $50,000.00 for my dog.

Wow.

$50,000.00.

50 G’s.

50 Grand.

Man, could I use $50,000.00. Plus, I knew that once she met Spark she’d offer more if I bargained with her. Hey, I’d given Sparky those online dog intelligence tests and he always got a perfect score. Spark’s always been off the charts. I’m pretty sure that $50,000.00 was a sure thing.

Man, I had to give this a lot of thought, and I did.

If you consider around .3 seconds “a lot of thought.”

Because it wasn’t happening. No. Freaking. Way. I told her there was no price she could offer me that I would accept. Oh, she tried to convince me otherwise, but it soon became apparent to her that she was fighting a losing battle.

Because you can’t put a price on certain things. You know, like loyalty and unconditional love. Plus I could have never just handed him over and walked away in a million years. Couldn’t do it. Wouldn’t do it.

Ever.

After all, take a look at that photo at the top of this story. Could you simply take a check and walk away from that face? I couldn’t.

So attention all people searching for highly intelligent dogs – mine isn’t for sale.

At any price.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments

Gimme a holler.

